Our website uses cookies throughout our system and to help us provide a better service. Continue to use the site as normal if you're happy with this, or click here to change your settings

Mountain Writing Competition 1998

We were encouraged to receive more than usual in terms of the numbers of entries with 11 in the prose category and 8 in the poetry category and sincerely hope that this trend will continue next year. Thanks to all those who entered.

Our thanks go to the judges in this year's competition: Bernard Newman (Editor of "Climber" magazine), Dave Hewitt (Editor of "The Angry Corrie"), Graham Little (past MCofS President), Ingrid Parker (past MCofS Vice President) and Kevin Howett (National Officer).


1st - The Crack, by Hamish Brown


1st - There Must Be More To It Than This, by Andrew Hilton

2nd - Good Bones, by Ruaridh Pringle

3rd - Enigma, by Simon Richardson