Mountaineering Scotland



The Granary West Mill Street Perth PH1 5QP

Tel 01738 493942

Annual General Meeting

Dewars Centre, Perth – 24 September 2016, 16.30

Minutes of the Meeting

The Chair, M. Watson, declared the meeting open at 4.50pm on Saturday 24 September and welcomed members (a list of individual members and affiliated clubs' representatives who registered at the meeting is in the attached Registration List). The Chair also noted apologies from: Jonathan Binny; Steve Gough; Kevin Howett; Vanessa Paynton, Young Explorers Scotland; Ken Scoular, Lochaber Mountaineering Club; Donald Shiach; and Alex Winter, Grampian Club.

a) Roll call and the appointment of Tellers: at the request of the Chair, the Company Secretary appointed J. Anderson and E. Bryce as Tellers.

b) The approval of the Minutes of the previous Annual General Meeting (AGM): The meeting unanimously approved the proposed resolution.

c) The receipt of the Annual Report: The Chair referred to the Annual Report published in the August edition of Scottish Mountaineer magazine and on the Mountaineering Scotland website. The Chair asked for any questions or comments concerning the report. There being none, the Chair then asked the Treasurer to present the Treasurer's Report.

d) The receipt of the annual accounts and reports: The Treasurer presented the Treasurer's section of the Annual Report (referred to in c. above). He said 2015-16 was a positive financial year for Mountaineering Scotland, with increased investment from sportscotland and increased income from individual memberships. The end of year accounts showed a deficit of £45,000, although the Board had approved a deficit budget for the purpose of investing reserves built up since 2012.

The treasurer reminded the meeting that subscription levels had not increased since 2012 and said details of proposals to increase these were published in the August edition of Scottish Mountaineer.

He added that it gave great pleasure to report that on Monday, 26th September 2016, Mountaineering Scotland would take over ownership of its offices at The Granary in Perth.

e) **The fixing of members' annual subscriptions:** The Chair, M. Watson, said there were two resolutions tabled: i) to increase members' annual subscription rates, and ii) to change the pro rata fees payable by members of clubs and merge the two present categories for youth members of clubs.

There was considerable discussion about resolution i) with some club representatives querying the different amounts spent on different priorities and whether this reflected the priorities of their clubs' memberships.

The matter went to the vote and resolution i) was passed by 256 votes for the resolution to 42 votes against. Resolution ii) was carried on a show of hands.

f) **The election of the President, Treasurer and Board members:** Under Article of Association 6.5, and in the absence of competing nominations, there were 4 directors eligible to serve and continue until the

2017 AGM without the need for a vote: President: Mike Watson; Directors: Chris Todd, David Montieth and Avril Gall. None were challenged and all will continue until the 2017 AGM.

Dave Gordon and Robert McMurray demitted office at the AGM on conclusion of their terms. Donald Shiach had expressed his wish to resign at the AGM.

Three members were nominated for election:

- Jennifer Cardno was nominated for the post of Treasurer, by Bradley Watts; Jonathan Binny was nominated for the post of Director (Landscape and Planning) by Michelle Sweeney; and
- Steve Gough was nominated for election to the Board, by Mike Watson.
- Jonathan Binny and Steve Gough were unable to attend the AGM. Jennifer Cardno gave a brief introduction to herself. All three were elected without opposition.

Brian Shackleton (SMC) asked if this meant there were still two vacancies on the Board; this was confirmed by the Company Secretary. The Chair confirmed that it was the Board's intention to appoint a Director for Clubs.

The chair then advised the meeting that as no business was tabled for items g) and h) that formal business of the AGM was essentially concluded.

Thank you

The Company Secretary then thanked the following for their support during the year: sportscotland; Glenmore Lodge; Mountain Training; St John Scotland; Scottish Mountain Rescue; Scottish Climbing Wall Network; EICA: Ratho & TCA Glasgow; ABC Training Trust; The BMC; Scottish Mountaineering Trust; Scottish Sports Association; Herald and Times Group Magazines; Tiso & Cotswold Outdoor; Munro Society and Summit Financial Services.

The Company Secretary also thanked the following volunteers: Scott Forsyth; John Donaldson; Linda Kerr; John Leftley; John Irving; Alfie Ingram and Ross Lorimer of Abertay University.

The chair then recorded his thanks to members for their support; magazine contributions; acting at competitions; donations; student training weekends; and acting as trustees.

There being no further business, the Chair closed the meeting.

Following the meeting the Chair made the inaugural **Mountaineering Scotland Awards**. Joint winners of the Mountaineering Scotland Volunteer of the Year Award were Dave Gordon and Thom Humphrey, who received their trophy from the President. Winner of the ClimbScotland Climber of the Year Award was Caitlin Connor, who was unable to attend but sent a video message of acceptance and thanks.

AGM 2016 – registration list

Anne Morrison, Ferranti MC Bob Reid, SMC John Irving, Forth Valley MC David Gibson, Mountaineering Scotland/individual member Ron Robertson, Individual member Joy Ingram, Carn Dearg MC Alfie Ingram, Carn Dearg MC John Leftley, Individual member Kathryn Gordon, Ochils MC Jamie Smith, Mountaineering Scotland Greg McShane, Individual member Graeme Morrison, Ferranti MC Dave Gordon, Mountaineering Scotland/Ochils MC Ron Payne, Perth MC Rob McCallum, Individual member Paul Tyers, East Kilbride MC Amelia Tyers, East Kilbride MC WL Mackay, Scottish Midweek Brian Robertson, Glenrothes Hillwalkers Club Ken Thomson, Cairngorm Club/Individual member Simon Fraser, Lochaber JMCS John Fowler, SMC Graeme Hunter, SMC Stuart Roxburgh, Grampian Club Noel Williams, SMC Shaun Roberts, Glenmore Lodge Robin Forrest, Inverness MC Brian Shackleton, SMC Robert McMurray, Braes o Fife MC/ Mountaineering Scotland David Monteith, Mountaineering Scotland Mike Thewlis, Perth MC Irene Macgregor, Perth MC/LSCC Sue James, Perth MC/Individual member Jane Anderson, Mountaineering Scotland Mike Watson, Mountaineering Scotland Emily Bryce, Mountaineering Scotland Neil Reid, Mountaineering Scotland Avril Gall, Mountaineering Scotland Heather Morning, Mountaineering Scotland Thom Humphrey, AMI/Individual member Jennifer Cardno, Individual member